5
$\begingroup$

I currently have Mathematica 10.2. If I upgrade to the just released 10.3, will I lose the modifications I've done to keyeventranslations.tr? I'm not sure if Mathematica overwrites these files. What about other changes I've made to the system? For insurance, is there a way to keep my old version of Mathematica with all modifications intact?

$\endgroup$
  • 2
    $\begingroup$ Why not back up your customized files, just to be sure? $\endgroup$ – J. M. is away Oct 16 '15 at 19:41
  • $\begingroup$ I can do this... expect I'm not sure about the options In the Options Inspector. I would like to keep them. I know they are located in $UserBaseDirectory in the file "/FrontEnd/init.m" at the end of the large file, but seems like a messy way to backup these settings. If I backup the whole file than I may lose something new in the 10.3 version. $\endgroup$ – Michael McCain Oct 16 '15 at 19:46
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ I didn't loose any Options Inspector setting, that were saved in $UserBaseDirectory. However, I'd to re-modify KeyEventTranslations.tr and such, as these were installed in a new $InstallationDirectory. $\endgroup$ – Karsten 7. Oct 16 '15 at 19:58
  • $\begingroup$ Got it. Thank you!!! I was hesitant. $\endgroup$ – Michael McCain Oct 16 '15 at 20:27
  • $\begingroup$ yes you will lose them $\endgroup$ – M.R. Oct 17 '15 at 6:15
8
$\begingroup$

I always keep the previous version of Mathematica available when I upgrade. To have two independent version available, I advise checking Preferences -> System -> Create and maintain version specific front end preferences in your current version of Mathematica before you install the upgrade. After doing this, preferences will be maintained separately for each installed version. They are stored in ~/Library/Mathematica/FrontEnd in a _init.m file. You can (and probably will want to) replace the newly created 10.3_init.m file with a copy of your 10.2_init.m to restore your old preferences.

$\endgroup$
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ In Windows machines, this files are stored in ~\AppData\Roaming\Mathematica\FrontEnd $\endgroup$ – crazzymath Oct 19 '15 at 10:35
5
$\begingroup$

Typically user-edited things in $UserBaseDirectory will not be changed on upgrade, in general. However, everything in $InstallationDirectory will be reset to the default state. If you modified that file in $InstallationDirectory, all modifications will be lost.

Regarding settings in the Options Inspector: If you use version-specific front end settings (Preferences -> System -> Create and maintain version specific front end preferences is checked) then the settings will be lost, or rather: new settings will be created for the new version without touching the old version's settings. Version-specific front end settings are not the default behaviour, so this won't be the case unless you changed it manually. It only makes sense to use this setting if you have multiple versions installed.

$\endgroup$
  • $\begingroup$ Thank you! This helps me a lot. $\endgroup$ – Michael McCain Oct 16 '15 at 22:58

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.