FindGraphCommunitites has a couple of method options: "Modularity", "Hierarchical", "Spectral", "Centrality", and "CliquePercolation".

I know that some of these methods admit further options. For example, "Modularity" admits "StopTest" and "Weighted", which can be specified as:

FindGraphCommunitites[graph, Method->{"Modularity", "Weighted"->False,
   "StopTest"->"StopTest" -> (Length@#2 == 7 &)}

("StopTest" example from https://mathematica.stackexchange.com/a/28449/534).

Where can I find documentation or references as to what options each method admits, and what do they mean?

See also: Citation of the algorithms used in FindGraphCommunities, How to set FindGraphCommunities Modularity's method option.

  • 1
    $\begingroup$ You might want to contact Wolfram support directly with this. When you receive a response, please share the information in an answer. $\endgroup$
    – Szabolcs
    Commented Dec 5, 2014 at 18:03
  • $\begingroup$ @Szabolcs I sent them an email. If I receive a reply I'll post it here. In the meantime, and in case I don't receive any reply from Wolfram, maybe people in this forum with experience using FindGraphCommunitites may want to share what they have learned. $\endgroup$
    – a06e
    Commented Dec 7, 2014 at 15:52
  • $\begingroup$ Did you receive a response from support? $\endgroup$
    – Szabolcs
    Commented May 24, 2018 at 7:42
  • $\begingroup$ @Szabolcs Nope :( $\endgroup$
    – a06e
    Commented May 24, 2018 at 8:31
  • $\begingroup$ IGraph/M has a set of community detection functions. The documentation has links to the corresponding publication for each one. $\endgroup$
    – Szabolcs
    Commented Nov 18, 2018 at 15:49


Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.