In developing and debugging a package today, I ran into a problem where installing the package through the menu seemed to stop working; changes I made simply weren’t being updated. As a matter of course, I have been selecting the option to install the package for all users on the computer. I was able, finally, to get the updates to take by selecting to install the package for just the current user. Here is my hypothesis, and I am hoping that someone can confirm or deny it (and maybe provide a fix):
1) Maybe one time I accidentally forgot to change the option from the default (install for just the current user) to my preference (install for all users).
2) Maybe if a package named the same thing is installed both ways, the version installed for the current user takes precedence.
Any thoughts? And is there a way to remove the conflict?